AGM and Members’ Dinner

01 December, 2011


AGM and Members’ Dinner


1 December 2011 HQS Wellington, London, UK







SUT award winners 2011

The SUT held its AGM, annual awards ceremony and members’ dinner on board HQS Wellington, moored at London’s Embankment, on 1 December 2011. The AGM began at 5.30pm, followed by the annual SUT awards ceremony honouring those who have made exceptional contributions to underwater technology.

During the awards ceremony, SUT Fellowships were awarded to Gavin Anthony, Paul Evans, Kieran Kavanagh and Professor John Sharp. Others receiving Fellowship awards to be given locally are Dr Craig Shipp in Houston, USA; Stuart Bensley in Melbourne, Australia; and José Formigli in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil. Honorary Fellowships were awarded to Mike Borrow and Dr Bil Loth. Bil Loth is also the SUT’s new incoming President. Mr Borrow was unable to attend the awards ceremony to accept his award in person, however, the Society wishes him many congratulations on his award.

The BP Award for the best thesis by an undergraduate in the fields of underwater technology and subsea engineering was made to Vijit Vishwanathan of the Robert Gordon University, Aberdeen for his thesis entitled ‘Processing of Natural Gas in Marginal Fields using Inorganic Hybrid Membrane Technology’. While Vijit was unable to attend the ceremony, his award and certificate were forwarded to him after the event with congratulations from SUT.

The Houlder Cup was awarded to Dr John King for his contribution to diving and underwater operations. John’s extensive experience in diving medicine includes his role as Diving Medical Officer to the Thames Barrier Project from 1975 to 1983, in addition to his experience in full-time Diving and Occupational Health practice in Harley Street from 1981. He was made an Associate of the Faculty of Occupational Medicine in 1979 and has served on almost all the HSE panels and discussion groups for subsequent Diving Regulations in 1981 and 1997. Since retirement in 2009 he remains active in diving and tunnelling circles. A member of the BTS Compressed Air Working Group, John is engaged in a digital publication and update of the Registry 1967 Bone Necrosis Atlas, and the application of saturation diving techniques to deep tunnel works. The SUT wishes John many congratulations on his award.

The SUT Oceanography Award was awarded to Jon Turton in recognition of his contribution to the field of oceanography in helping to expand the frontiers of knowledge about the global ocean. His experience includes working for the Met Office, where he responsible for all the Met Office’s marine and ocean observations, and the Ministry of Defence, where he had responsibility for defence meteorological projects. Jon has been involved with government action groups on the Global Ocean Observing System, the Marine Environmental Data Information Network and the Marine Assessment Reporting Group within the UK’s Marine Monitoring and Assessment Strategy, as well as the European Surface Marine Programme and its Data Buoy Advisory Group. During his career, Jon has quietly enabled the data to be gathered, the machines to be deployed and the right governmental policy to be in place within the field of oceanography, and the SUT was very pleased to award Jon the SUT Oceanography Award for 2011.

The SUT President’s Award was awarded to Dr Ralph Rayner in recognition of his distinguished career in ocean science and technology and his contribution to the development of the SUT. Ralph received the SUT Oceanography Award in 2006 and is a current SUT Council Member. He has continued to lead and influence the profession of operational oceanography in a great many ways. Ralph is helping to advance the development of operational oceanography globally, serving the Intergovernmental Oceanographic Commission of UNESCO as Chairman of the Scientific Steering Committee for the Global Ocean Observing System (GOOS). Ralph continues to foster development of the interface between science and industry, and is a leader of the organising committee for the biennial meetings of Oceanology International at the EXCEL Centre in London. His contribution to the world of industry has been recognised by recently being honoured as the Association of Marine Scientific Industries (AMSI) Business Person of the Year. For his many achievements and leadership, it gave SUT great pleasure to award Ralph the SUT President’s Award for 2011.

The AGM and awards ceremony was followed by a drinks reception and then dinner, attended by around 90 members and guests. After dinner, a game of ‘Heads and Tails’ was led by Dr Bob Allwood and was won by Steve Hall, who contributed his winnings to the SUT’s Educational Support Fund. The game raised a fantastic sum of £932 for the Fund, and all participants were thanked for their contributions.