Celebrate All-Energy’s 21st Anniversary

SUT was there at the start of All-Energy’s history 21 years ago having been its Learned Society Patron since before the first show was held in Aberdeen in 2001. We’d welcome your early (or later) All-Energy memories. View our anniversary page here. SUT’s then newly formed Marine Renewable Energies Committee played, and continues to play, a key role at the UK’s wide-ranging and largest renewable and low carbon energy exhibition and conference.

This year’s show (SEC Glasgow, 11-12 May) continues to focus on SUT topics of interest

There’s a day-long conference stream on Marine Renewables (tidal stream and wave) and a full day’s show floor theatre programme to relish too. At the end of the first marine renewables session (11:00-12:30, 11 May), the SUT Lennard-Senior Award will be presented to the European Marine Energy Centre’s (EMEC) Managing Director, Neil Kermode.

Offshore wind features heavily with five sessions over the two days, including two on Floating Wind, plus a day of back-to-back presentations in its own show floor theatre, including an insight into the work of the SUT UXO SIG. Catch Marine Scotland’s session on Day 2 too.

Click here to register today and join us there! Make a point of visiting the SUT’s stand (Q03) as well as attending conference sessions. Engineering a Net Zero future.

Photo: Andrew Scott of Orbital Marine Power won the 2019 Lennard-Senior Award (left to right): John Sharp, Chair of SUT’s MREC; Stephen Hall (previous SUT CEO); and recent Lennard-Senior award winners Sue Barr (UK Marine Energy Council) and Tim Cornelius (then CEO, SIMEC Atlantis) flanking winner Andrew.

A Red Letter Oi 2022 Opening Day for the SUT and the MTS

  • Captain Don Walsh at Oi 2022 to present the SUT/MTS Award made in his name to Victor Vescovo and Patrick Lahey in recognition of their contribution to ocean exploration
  • Presentation by Vescovo and Lahey – 2021 winners of the SUT/MTS Captain Don Walsh Award
  • SUT-moderated session on Women in Industry
  • A chance to find out more about making nomination for the 2022 Captain Don Walsh Ocean Exploration Award on the SUT and MTS stands

SUT Contact: Cheryl Burgess Cheryl.burgess@sut.org

MTS Contact: Kristina Norman Kristina.Norman@mtsociety.org

LONDON, UK — Since it launched Oceanology International (Oi) in 1969, the Society for Underwater Technology has always played a key part in the exhibition and conference. This year is no exception with OI’s partner, the SUT and its members, playing a particularly active role in the conference on opening day (Tuesday, 15 March) at ExCeL London.

Dr Ralph Rayner, Oceanology Conference Chair, a past President of the SUT and a Fellow of the Learned Society, will introduce the Oi opening conference session ‘Ocean Futures – The New Blue Economy’ (10:00-12:15).

As SUT’s Chief Executive, Cheryl Burgess explains:

“The New Blue Economy is a knowledge-based economy, looking to the sea not just for extraction of material goods, but for data and information to address societal challenges and inspire their solution”’.

“The New Blue Economy session Ralph is introducing, with a truly stellar line-up (see https://tinyurl.com/ycku899z) explores how emerging capabilities for acquiring ocean data and delivering actionable ocean information can enable a growing Blue Economy that balances delivering the vast economic potential of the ocean with protecting ocean health and ensuring social equity.

“As the session comes to a close, it will feature a very special moment when the Captain Don Walsh Award for Ocean Exploration, will be presented by Captain Don Walsh, Moya Crawford, President of the SUT and Zdenka Willis, President MTS to Victor Vescovo and Patrick Lahey.

“The Award is made annually by SUT and MTS and it is a great honour to have Don Walsh with us at Oi this year during the presentations.

Full information on the nomination process for the 2022 Captain Don Walsh Ocean Exploration Award, with its deadline of 31 May 2022, will be on the SUT stand (R550) at Oi; along with information on other awards such as the Gwyn Griffiths Underwater Robotics Award with its submission deadline of 31 March.

Presentation by the winners of the 2021 Don Walsh Award + Women in Industry

The next presentation in the Ocean Futures Theatre at Oi 2022 will be ‘Into the Abyss: Exploring the Deepest Realms of the World’s Oceans’ when delegates will be invited to join undersea explorer Victor Vescovo and submarine engineer Patrick Lahey, winners of the captain Don Walsh Award for Ocean Exploration, as they recount their experiences of making possible dives to the deepest points in each of the world’s oceans.

This will be followed by ’Women in Industry’ chaired by SUT’s Chair, Sue John with a panel of women engineers, scientists, and technologists from the subsea, underwater, and wider marine sector each sharing insights from their career progression, successes, and challenges. A moderated panel discussion will follow the presentations, including audience Q&A where attendees are encouraged to engage with panellists and their peers.

Further information

Further information on SUT its global branches; corporate, individual and student membership; special interest groups; and activities is at www.sut.org and on Oceanology International at www.oceanologyinternational.com/

About the MTS
The Marine Technology Society (MTS) promotes awareness, understanding, and the advancement and application of marine technology. Incorporated in 1963, the international society brings together businesses, institutions, professionals, academics, and students who are ocean engineers, technologists, policy makers, and educators. The Society publishes a peer-reviewed journal — The Marine Technology Society Journal. It has three technical divisions and 31 Professional Committees (technical interest groups). The society hosts several conferences yearly. And, it supports 13 Sections, which focus on events and programs unique to their geographic areas, enhancing networking among local colleagues, businesses, universities and government/military offices. www.mtsociety.org